Brooks County Schools have some fine teachers. Each year we are pleased to identify the best of the best through an arduous selection process that begins with an election at each of our schools where a superlative teacher is selected by his or her peers as their best representative of teaching excellence. The school-level teachers of the year then compete for District Teacher of the Year. The District Teacher of the Year is selected by a panel of outside judges whose decision is formed on the basis of essays and interviews.

The candidate for Brooks County’s Teacher of the Year should be:

  • A classroom teacher in Pre-Kindergarten through grade 12, including special education, physical education, art, music, and media specialists. (Counselors are not eligible.)
  • An exceptionally dedicated, knowledgeable, and skilled teacher who is planning to continue in active teaching status.
  • A teacher who inspires students of all backgrounds and abilities to learn.
  • A teacher who has the respect and admiration of students, parents, and colleagues.
  • A teacher who plays an active and useful role in the community as well as in the school.
  • A teacher who is poised and articulate and possesses the energy to withstand a taxing schedule.

Brooks County School District
Teacher of the Year 2016 - 2017
Mrs. Lorri Sears with Superintendent Dr. Vickie Reed

Brooks County High School
Teacher of the Year 2016 -2017
Mrs. Charlotte Donald

Brooks County Middle School
Teacher of the Year 2016 - 2017
Ms. Kristie Calhoun

Quitman Elementary School
Teacher of the Year 2016 -2017
Mrs. Regina Gerleman