Brooks County School System's Student Assessment Program

The purpose of the Brooks County Schools Student Assessment Program is to measure the level of student achievement of the state-adopted curriculum, to identify students failing to achieve mastery of content, to provide teachers with diagnostic information, and to assist the school system in identifying strengths and areas of improvement in order to establish priorities in planning educational programs. The mandatory state assessments include:

ACCESS for English Language Learners (ELLs) in grades K-12

Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT)

  • Reading, English/Language Arts, and Mathematics in grades 3-8
  • Science and Social Studies in grades 3-8

End-of-Course Tests (EOCT)

  • Mathematics I, Mathematics II, Algebra I, Geometry, Grade 9 Literature and Composition, American Literature and Composition, Economics/Business/Free Enterprise, U.S. History, Biology, Physical Science, principally in grades 9-12.

Assessment Security Procedures

Georgia Alternate Assessment in grades K-8 and 11 (GAA)

Georgia Kindergarten Inventory of Developmental Skills - (GKIDS)

Grades 3,5, and 8 Writing Assessments

National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)

  • Reading, Mathematics and Science in grades 4,8, and 12
  • Local Assessments may include Cognitive Abilities Tests for grades 2 and 6 and other program assessments.

Graduation Diploma Petition Information The deadline for submission of petitions is June 30, 2017. For further information contact: Dr. Tammie F. Patterson at 229-263-7531.